To All Section VI Boys Ice Hockey Member Schools:

Full Senior All Star Team 2023

Last night our Section VI Fed League hosted the first annual Senior All Star Game.  If you attended I believe you would agree that it was a great success.  There were 52 seniors that all enjoyed themselves and had an opportunity to end their high school hockey careers playing with, and against, their friends in a fun celebration ending the season. There were smiles throughout the game.  I honestly think the coaches and our officials enjoyed the night as much, if not more, than the kids did.

Coaches Senior All Star Game 2023

I want to thank some of the many people that helped make this happen. Brian Turner, Rob Roszak, John McFall and Kyle Pray worked diligently to put this together.  We were supported by Mark DiFilippo and Section VI in getting approval for the event.  I must also single out the Clarence School District administration, Mr. Jason Lehmbeck our Athletic Director and Superintendent Matt Frahm who agreed to allow Clarence to serve as the host team.

Senior All Star Refs

A special thanks goes to Mrs. Stacy Evans, the Clarence Administrative Assistant, who spent several weeks collecting, organizing, and correcting the insurance documents from all 27 high schools. Without all of these people, and many more, last night would not have happened. Of course I must add our team coaches and officials who contributed to a spirit of fun and sportsmanship, thanks!

Southtowns Senior All Star Team 2023

I believe the measure of success is to make a positive difference in the lives of others.  Last night our Fed League did exactly that.  Many families took pictures and interacted with other players’ families. Those seniors will remember that the last event of their high school hockey experience was a positive and enjoyable night. Even the Buffalo News covered the event two days in a row.

Northtowns Senior All Star Team 2023

I have attached the article in the Buffalo News this morning in case you did not have an opportunity to read it.



Thank you to all.



Rick Brooks

Section VI Boys’ Ice Hockey Chair